Posted by: csdailyblog | December 5, 2014

October 25, 2014

Ruby

Ruby

~This blog entry is brought to you from the electronic portfolio of CS9 student Ruby Krietzman. Conserve School electronic portfolios connect student experiences to the school’s learning goals. Ruby is from Minnetonka, Minnesota where she attends Hopkins High School.~

October 25, 2014

Conserve School Learning Goal: After successfully completing a Conserve School semester, a student frequently takes time for outdoor play and reflection.

Last Saturday was one of the most memorable days here at Conserve School. I woke up to a beautiful sunrise and warm fall air promptly before brunch. After brunch, I decided to go kayaking with Sheina, Colin, Sarah, and Evan. Despite the dropping temperatures and increasing wind speed, we got our paddles and went on our way. The lake was majestic. It was a deep, blue color and the sky looked like it was water colored. We stopped at a peninsula across Big Donahue Lake and explored for awhile. After taking in the beautiful scenery, we headed back.

As we got into our kayaks, the wind was increasing exponentially and the waves were nearly tipping our kayaks. Within the first two minutes of kayaking back to the LRC, the waves tipped Evan’s boat. The water was freezing and the boat was filled to the brim with the cold water. With teamwork and problem solving, we got Evan back to land safely.

That was one of the unforgettable experiences.

While the majority of the student population was at the haunted house in Eagle River on Saturday night, I participated in various enjoyable activities. I spent part of the night at the bonfire and the rest of the night playing a seed/garden game called Bonanza with a few of the staff members. I joined reluctantly, but it ended up being surprisingly fun.

14-10-25 Sleep Out Tent Lit 2After an evening well spent, I put many layers of clothing on, grabbed my sleeping pad, and almost forgetting my sleeping bag, headed out to the Sledding Hill to sleep under the stars. The stars were unlike anything I had ever seen before. The sky was peppered in them and there were endless shooting stars. I was so content. This quite spontaneous activity ended up being one of my favorite memories from this semester.

photo (2)These activities helped me recognize that I need to play more often. I had been too focused on other things that I had forgotten to take time to be present and happy. Last Saturday was a day full of fun activities that I could not be happier I took part in.

After this day, I wanted to play all the time. It inspired me to be more spontaneous and participate in activities I may not have tried before.

14-10-26 Sleep Out six thirtyI brought my journal out to the Sledding Hill and wrote in my journal while everyone went to bed. I could not resist the desire to record and reflect on the great day I had. I reflected on the activities I had partaken in and thought of ideas on how to play in the future.

~Ruby Krietzman, Conserve School Semester 9

A few more photos from Ruby’s time at Conserve School.

Conserve School provides a semester-long immersion for high school students in environmental studies and outdoor activities that deepens their love of nature, reinforces their commitment to conservation, and equips them to take meaningful action as environmental stewards. Thanks to the generosity of Conserve School’s friends and its founder James Lowenstine all students accepted to this amazing semester school receive full scholarship support.

Leave a Reply

Categories

