Posted by: Stefan Anderson | December 4, 2014

The Wonders of Harvest Fest

Preston

Preston

~This blog entry is brought to you from the electronic portfolio of CS9 student Preston Sabharwal. Conserve School electronic portfolios connect student experiences to the school’s learning goals. Preston is from Georgetown, Kentucky where he attends Sayre School.~

The Wonders of Harvest Fest

Conserve School Learning Goal: After successfully completing a Conserve School semester, a student demonstrates a commitment and responsibility to community, and is inspired to value and take part in service to others.

When the sun peaked its head, and opened its eyes on this wintry morning, I knew that today was going to be different. Today was harvest festival, it was a day to celebrate. It held many things in its palm. As I made it over to the LRC (Lowenwood Recreation Center), I was amazed by the intricacy. I walked into a place where a fire was abundant, and pine filled the air. The room was dim, and I was able to really take the lesson to heart. I took the time to meditate and reflect. I saw the interconnection between all of us students, and it just made the environment welcoming. Later in the day I was able to take part in communication skills, as well as song writing. In those activities, Temp Preston 2I learned how people connected with others, and how in tune they were to the activities that they were in. For dinner a few hours later, everyone came together, dapper and all, and dined on magnificent food. This was a time of gratitude and celebration, and everyone’s laughter filled the air. To follow our great feast, we all contra-danced together. During this time, I felt especially in tune. I observed everyone’s energy, and it soared through the air. Joy was contagious, affecting everyone in the room.

Harvest fest helped me learn more about this community. I was able to see everyone in a joyous state, and it really inspired me to always be present, and to always help others when requested of me. Harvest fest sticks with me because of the fact that it was so meaningful. It really opened my eyes to the community, and I was able to see how connected we all really are. I saw how we all really cared about each other, and it gave me a sense of content. I learned so much from this day. I learned an array of things, expanding from having a grand time and communicating effectively with others to taking time to reflect. Harvest fest gave me so many things, and now it is my turn to give back to the community.

~Preston Sabharwal, Conserve School Semester 9

A few photos from Harvest Festival held on November 19th.

Conserve School provides a semester-long immersion for high school students in environmental studies and outdoor activities that deepens their love of nature, reinforces their commitment to conservation, and equips them to take meaningful action as environmental stewards. Thanks to the generosity of Conserve School’s friends and its founder James Lowenstine all accepted students receive significant scholarship support.

Responses

  1. more lovely pictures!


Leave a Reply

Categories

