Posted by: Stefan Anderson | June 17, 2013

CS6 Final Thoughts – Matt Honig

Matt

Matt

~This blog entry is brought to you from the electronic portfolio of CS6 student Matt Honig. Conserve School electronic portfolios connect student experiences to the school’s 17 learning goals. Matt is a homeschooler from Elgin, Illinois.~

As I look back on this semester, on the experiences I’ve had, the friends I’ve made, and the skills I’ve gained, I can’t help thinking that I did so much more here than I came to do. I certainly accomplished the goals I came with, but I have discovered so much more about myself. I’ve discovered what I want to be, my passion for music, and my love of the outdoors. I have discovered that, with determination and a few friends, I can do anything. I’ve discovered that life matters more than grades, and I’ve made more friends here than I ever have at home. Here at Conserve, I’ve had so many great experiences. I’ve been hypothermic, eaten some quality pasta (thanks to the meat team), and had many a good time…

Moving on, after Conserve, I plan go to college, get a BS in nutrition, and live a normal life. Just kidding. That is a complete last resort. What I’m actually going to do is live a life enriched by Conserve School. I’m going to do what I really want to, not what is guaranteed to succeed or what society wants me to do. I’m going to change the world through music. I will do what I want. Because I am who I am. I’m not what anyone else says I am. I am Matthew George Honig. I am me. My identity is my own, and no one can take that from me. This is who I am. Thank you Conserve.

~Matt Honig

More photos from Matt’s semester at Conserve School.

Responses

  1. Yea for you. You’ll change a million time before leaving college. And this is the time to do it. Challenge the world, but still be kind and unwilling to hurt others unless you have no choice. Your family will always be there for you. Especially Grandma Swan…..just in case!
    Love ya alot


Leave a Reply

Categories

