Posted by: Stefan Anderson | June 11, 2013

CS6 Final Thoughts – Emma Beachy

Emma

Emma

~This blog entry is brought to you from the electronic portfolio of CS6 student Emma Beachy. Conserve School electronic portfolios connect student experiences to the school’s 17 learning goals. Emma is from Madison, Wisconsin where she attends Madison West High School.~

My goal was to learn about the world around me and try new things. In my semester at Conserve, I definitely accomplished this goal. Every day of this semester I was learning – about Northwoods history, about the local flora and fauna, how to ski, how to make my voice heard, how to better connect with nature and much more. I tried so many new things it’s impossible to list them all – snowshoeing, canoeing, splitting wood, skiing and best of all, birding.

Black-throated blue warblerSarah and Drew introduced me to something I think I’ll be doing for the rest of my life. Birding connects me to and teaches me about nature and it’s fun! While I worked towards my goal, I learned a lot about myself. I learned how important it is to take personal time for reflection, but I also learned how important it is to reach out and get to know other people. My time at Conserve would have been a lot less meaningful if I had only gotten to know a few people.

LAB Saturday MorningOnce I leave Conserve, my new goals include completing my senior year of high school, going to college and continuing my love of the outdoors. I want to tell other people what I’ve learned here, through a club, a letter, by mouth, anything. I want others to understand my love for the environment and be inspired the same way I was when I came to Conserve. While I’d like to go into engineering, I’d also like to put an environmental spin on that – if I can, maybe working on making designs more environmentally friendly and sustainable. Being at Conserve has really opened my eyes to the importance of sustainability to nature. I will continue to be involved in my Venturing Crew, volunteer to help with prairie restorations and spend lots of time outdoors. I plan to make the most of everything I’ve learned this year!

In terms of thing’s I’ll take with me, Conserve has left me with a lot. I have lifelong friends, new experiences and happy memories, fresh ideas and a different perspective. Leaving Conserve isn’t the end of the book, just the first chapter.

~Emma Beachy, Conserve School Semester 6

More photos from Emma’s semester at Conserve School.

Leave a Reply

Categories

