Posted by: Stefan Anderson | June 6, 2013

CS6 Final Thoughts – Sam

Sam

Sam

~This blog entry is brought to you from the electronic portfolio of CS6 student Sam Wrzesinski. Conserve School electronic portfolios connect student experiences to the school’s 17 learning goals. Sam is from Grayslake, Illinois where she attends Grayslake Central High School.~

“To fly, we must have resistance” ~Maya Lin

How do you end something that so completely changed your life?
Answer?  You don’t; you remember.

Solo Camping

Solo Camping

Originally, my goal was to be able to survive/live off the land. I wasn’t really able to fully do that here, although solos were a pretty close shot to the target. I had so much fun; I made fires and my own food and even though it rained the whole second day, it was nice to stay in my sleeping bag, keeping toasty warm. Before I wrote this goal, I had already known that I liked to be alone and I liked to read, but I learned that I really like to watch fires. I am not a person to start fire and watch thing burn, but I like to look at the beauty of the fire, how it licks the air like a child to an ice cream cone. I like to look at the different colors of the fire as it heats up and cools down. It reminds me of a river of gold that people only hear about through stories and myths.

Throughout the semester, it dawned on me that surviving off the land would require (I know) going to the bathroom in the wilderness. I had never done this before and it was kind of nerve wrecking to think that someone might see me. But, I got over that obstacle because, obviously, I had to go to the bathroom during solos. I don’t think my goal changed during the semester, although, rather than living completely away from society, living in a small town with limited resources and a lot of room would be better.

When I get home, I would really like to start an environmental movement at my school. We already have an environmental club, but I feel that you don’t need a club to do things to help the environment. In fact, it kind of annoys me because the people in it probably don’t do much else but got to meetings and only help out with the club. I think it would be nice to start a compost program or help to inform people about the dangers of plastic bags, especially in my community.

A more sustainable way to live would be hunting and I think that it sounds like an interesting way to live. I would like to learn how to set snares and hunt the way the Native Americans did. I would also love to grow food and live sustainably. After college, I would like to get a job that is not environmental; although, I would like to give it an environmental twist.

In the Community Garden

In the Community Garden

My love for the outdoors will always be there and I will continue to venture outside, but now, I will have new adventures to experience. I figure I will go on many more camping trips throughout my lifetime ahead and I will definitely keep my childish side right next to me to remind me why I had started loving the outdoors in the first place. I will continue to go outside and explore or play games with the younger kids in my court; but mostly, I will continue getting dirty in the mud and having fun acting like a child.

In the future, I do hope to see and learn about many more animals and explore what beauty other states and countries have to offer. I also hope to learn more about what it is like to be on trail and what it feels like to not shower for a couple weeks or to come home to lay in a comfy bed and think is feels weird. All these things I would love to experience.

What I do in the future has been greatly altered because of what I have done and accomplished here at Conserve School. I have had many second homes, but here with all my friends and the raw beauty all around me, I am home.

“People do not decide to become extraordinary. They decide to accomplish extraordinary things” ~Edmund Hillary

SAM I AM.

“In the end, it’s not the years in your life that count but the life in your years” ~Abraham Lincoln

~Sam Wrzesinski, Conserve School Semester 6

More photos from Sam’s semester at Conserve School.

Leave a Reply

Categories

