Posted by: Stefan Anderson | May 30, 2013

CS6 Final Thoughts – Kevin

Kevin

Kevin

~This blog entry is brought to you from the electronic portfolio of CS6 student Kevin Whited-Ford. Conserve School electronic portfolios connect student experiences to the school’s 17 learning goals. Kevin is from Viroqua, Wisconsin where he attends Laurel High School.~

Well, it’s nearing the end, the end of a semester of wisdom, adventure and exhilaration. Over the course of four months I have absorbed an immense amount of information in the common subjects such as history and English to more uncommon areas such as environmental science and ceramics. However, that is not the full picture. Conserve is not just about the academics of life. Rather the focus of Conserve is to promote environmental stewardship and strong community ethics in its students. The students of Conserve arrive from many different geographical areas carrying with them a plethora of individual opinions on a myriad of diverse topics. Every student has a different background, a unique set of events that has shaped their personal values and pointed them on a course for environmental stewardship.

Kevin in the Sylvania Wilderness

Kevin in the Sylvania Wilderness

At the beginning of my semester I outlined why I wanted to go to Conserve, these are as follow: I came to Conserve because I wanted to learn more about the areas I love. Conserve seemed to possess the intellectual and physical avenues I was looking to travel down. Through Conserve I hope to broaden my horizons in the historical, political and scientific fields of the environment. I would like to understand in a clearer sense how these fields combine together to form the amazingly complex system that is the environment and its management. Looking at this outline I wrote a few goals for my semester, these are the goals that follow: While at Conserve I would like to increase my outdoor skills. From backpacking to knot making, I would like to learn new skills that will help me in my future explorations. I also want to learn these skills because I would like to spread their knowledge to as many people as are willing.

As I look back on these words I feel I have succeeded in making them non-fiction. I have improved in every aspect of the goals I set. As I have lived on the Conserve campus I realized the differences of campus life with my previous seventeen years of home life, that the responsibility to respect others opinions and lifestyles is a mandatory aspect that must be understood.

As I look forward I wonder as to what the next years of my life will hold. I hope to organize a back packing trip with some of my hometown friends. I will also try and amend my lifestyle to a more environmentally friendly.

Peacefully,

~Kevin Whited-Ford, Conserve School Semester 6

More photos from Kevin’s semester at Conserve School.

Responses

  1. Awesome, loved reading your thoughts here Kevin, especially how the Conserve School instilled a core understanding in you of the need to respect others opinions and lifestyles. It’s sobering to realize that mostly, we just need to work on ourselves constanty, BE the change and continue loving all. You’ll probably struggle less than others by hooking your caboose onto that belief – hallelujua! I can’t wait to see pictures of that back packing trip… or to support your first bigtime “I’m just out here saving the world from ourselves” invention! Seriously. Gratitude to Conserve School for showing up fully and delivering this needed content in such a rich environment for these amazing teens! MHall

  2. I love this! If only we were all as smart as Kevin~ There are three sentences that stand out to me the most and that tell me not only that Kevin is smart but also Kind & compassionate. And with those traits I know Kevin is already. among the people who truly do make a difference in the world.
    “The students of Conserve arrive from many different geographical areas carrying with them a plethora of individual opinions on a myriad of diverse topics. Every student has a different background, a unique set of events that has shaped their personal values and pointed them on a course for environmental stewardship.” and “As I have lived on the Conserve campus I realized the differences of campus life with my previous seventeen years of home life, that the responsibility to respect others opinions and lifestyles is a mandatory aspect that must be understood.”
    Kudo’s to Kevin & wishing him much continued success.


Leave a Reply

Categories

