Posted by: csdailyblog | December 21, 2012

Final Thoughts – Meghan

Meghan

Meghan

~This blog entry is brought to you from the electronic portfolio of CS5 student Meghan Peterson. Conserve School electronic portfolios connect student experiences to the school’s 17 learning goals. Meghan is from Tuscon, Arizona where she attends Catalina Foothills High School.~

This semester I set out to make the most of my opportunities and gain new experiences. I definitely accomplished my goal. I have stepped out of my comfort zone countless times. I did not try new things this extreme before I came to Conserve School. After I finally just went for it and decided to come here I realized how much I could do. I saw so many opportunities that I would have let pass me by and I took them. I learned to love so many new things that I had assumed I would not like or was too embarrassed to try. I made new friends and gained a lot from all of my adventures. I do wish I had gone out and explored a bit more when it was still warm out but I just explored when it was cold instead.

In the future I will definitely use what I have learned at Conserve School. I plan on going backpacking with my dad using my recently acquired backpacking skills. I will definitely continue to use my outdoor skills and get outside to canoe or hike or whatever activities I can. I hope to do any and all of these activities in a sustainable matter, leaving no trace, and encourage my friends and family to do the same. I also will try to reduce how much frivolous stuff I buy. I realized how little I actually need while living here, and I am going to try to reduce unnecessary waste. I might also push for my community to reduce how much impact they have on the environment, and I definitely will work harder towards that once I can vote. Somewhere in the distant future I plan on having a job that has to do with wildlife. I already found a volunteer opportunity at a wildlife rehabilitation hospital in Tucson that I am going to try and get. As for right after Conserve School I will try to get my voice heard about the issues I feel are most important.

~Meghan Peterson, Conserve School Semester 5

More photos from Meghan’s semester at Conserve School.

Leave a Reply

Categories

