Posted by: csdailyblog | December 9, 2012

Reflection through Photography

Alex

Alex

~This blog entry is brought to you from the electronic portfolio of CS5 student Alex DeMets. Conserve School electronic portfolios connect student experiences to the school’s 17 learning goals. Alex is from Verona, Wisconsin where he attends Verona High School.~

Learning Goal 8: Frequently takes time for outdoor play and reflection.

A few mornings ago, I decided to get up early to go on a run. I got out of bed at around 5:45 and headed out the door. I began the run, and after about 5 minutes, came upon a steaming bog. At first I resisted the urge to go back and get my camera, not wanting to ruin the run. However, I gave in easily and headed back to get my camera. I headed for a bog that had caught my attention while on a run the previous day. I photographed the bog for about an hour. The light striking through the trees was caught by the mist and transformed into majestic rays. The scene around me was quiet, the silence occasionally broken by the gentle tapping of raindrops as they fell onto the forest floor. My trance like state of focus was finally broken by an alarm on my watch. I realized I only had about ten minutes before class started, and sprinted back. Such an unfitting conclusion to my peaceful morning.

Early Morning

Early Morning

My time spent photographing the bog further strengthened my connection to the outdoors. Although it was hard to get up so early, in the end I was glad I did it and glad that I’d taken an extra hour of the morning to appreciate nature’s beauty in a new light.

I learned that hard work always pays off in photography, as well as persistence. I think this can also be applied to real life. I also got a chance to practice photographing a forest scene, which I always seem to struggle with.

I think the mist was what made my time photographing the bog stand out. Mist, to me, has always seemed to transform ordinary landscapes into fairy tale-like, magical scenes. Although it is not the rarest of natural phenomena, it has been something that gets me up early time and time again. I think every morning I spend taking photos holds some type of meaning, but this meaning is not always easy to put into words. Every morning I spend taking photos, I get just a little bit better, and see just a little more of nature’s magic. Every morning gives me more special memories which I will cherish forever.

~Alex DeMets, Conserve School Semester 5

(Alex is an accomplished photographer and you can find more of his work on his website.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

