Posted by: csdailyblog | December 5, 2012

Proceed On

Brooke

Brooke

~This blog entry is brought to you from the electronic portfolio of CS5 student Brooke Niermann. Conserve School electronic portfolios connect student experiences to the school’s 17 learning goals. Brooke came is from West Allis, Wisconsin and attends Nathan Hale High School.~

Learning Goal 10: Demonstrates a commitment and responsibility to community and is inspired to value and take part in service to others.

Friends

Friends

“We proceeded on.” This phrase was repeated throughout the journals of Captain Meriwether Lewis and William Clark on their expedition to explore the Louisiana Purchase; though they had many hardships they found the strength to keep going every day. Not only does this phrase apply to the Corps of Discovery, but also to myself. I will proceed on.

This past week has been an altogether life changing and inspirational time. Friday night, around 20 of us loaded up in the sprinters and took off down the road for Jeff Rennicke’s showcase. Once we arrived, we took to the pictures mesmerized that this talented soul was our teacher. We all scuffled into the small auditorium, thinking that this was just going to be another speech that we would sit through; but we were dead wrong. The speech that Jeff gave us that night was inspirational and eye opening; while many people need to go out to an exotic isle to find beauty, he can find it in his own backyard. He proceeds on to do something he loves every day.

Fish from the Hatchery

Fish from the Hatchery

Saturday morning, Rob took 7 of us to volunteer at the fishery, another great experience. Right when we drove in, I knew that I was going to enjoy myself. We helped Dino rake weeds from one of the run ponds and feed the hungry trout, making small talk in between. I learned a lot by working with the trout; one of the most important being that you don’t have to know a lot to start something you are interested in. Dino was a firefighter for some time before he bought the old hatchery and started it up for himself. It made me realize that I don’t need to know my exact major or minor when going into college because another opportunity may pop up out of nowhere. I can proceed on at my own pace; setting goals and changing my mind when need be.

Above Bond Falls

Above Bond Falls

One of the harder parts of the weekend had to be Sunday. A small group of us were going with Eve to Bond Falls in the UP of Michigan for a small trip, but once we got out of the car we saw that it was misting heavily and we proceeded on . Only stopping to take pictures we reveled in the purest form of beauty. I was caught by the immense beauty of cascading water down the rock peaks. The water proceeds down from the beginning to the finish; never letting up, and even getting though the hard parts. I can only hope to be like this water. Pushing on even when homework is piling up and college applications need to be sent out.

I learned a lot this weekend, educationally and morally, that proceeding on is the right thing to do. The projects and other things that I have been doing have been concreted into me by the people and opportunities that are given to me. By going to Jeff’s showcase, helping out Dino at his hatchery, and going to Bond Falls with Eve, I feel like I bettered myself and immersed myself into my community. I will proceed on.

~Brooke Niermann, Conserve School Semester 5

Bond Falls

Bond Falls

Responses

  1. Brooke is my advisee, so I read her e-portfolio regularly, and I think this is my favorite entry! Mary Anna Thornton, Assistant Head of School


Leave a Reply

Categories

